Ciwan

Node and Gulp. What should I check into Git?

Hello Friends

I am just starting out with NodeJS and Gulp.

I have everything working as I want, and I now want to keep track of my changes via Git.

What are the files and folder that I should add to `.gitignore`? Attached is the folders I have. Inside public I have two folders. These are `src` and `dist`.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

I generally just add node_modules folder to my .gitignore and any other dependencies that can be featched in a similar way to how node works with the package.json

Some people ignore their source files too, but I choose to keep mine in the repository.

Of course there's more stuff to add if you are using a CMS such as a user uploads folder, security configs etc.

Edited by rbrtsmith

Is it a matter of adding everything that cannot be generated?

If that is the case, then I need to exclude:

• node_modules
  • public/dist

Everything else I need, since those won't be generated.

On a related note, say someone checks out my solution at a different computer. How would they get node to go through the `package.json` and download all necessary modules? What command should he/she run?

Thanks

Edited by Ciwan

• node_modules
  • public/dist

On a related note, say someone checks out my solution at a different computer. How would they get node to go through the `package.json` and download all necessary modules? What command should he/she run?

Thanks

Running npm install will download the dependancies if you have a package.json file in the directory.

• node_modules
  • public/dist

Thanks

Not always. When I release something for public use I also publish the dist folder as not everybody who is using it will have NPM or Node or even Gulp on their machine.

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now