A recent search has caused an 'HORAY!' and an 'OMG!' in equal measure. Now i wonder if the deletion of details on web sites are as secure as they first appear to be.
So, allow me to waffle out an explaination.
Poking around for a few of old friends i entered the names into a search engine. Woo Hoo two of the three bounced back on the socail networking site. The third i found confusing, followed by frustration then to a realisation that something just isnt right.
In the search engine several results returned from a public journal site but clicking on the link too me to a page stating that the account had been deleted by the user and purged. But how?.... how can i see the first few lines of the blogs yet they are not on the site? confusing huh? Have search engines evolved to a place where nothing is ever deleted and exposed with a simple search?
Im sure the most creative web users will be able to view the page in its entirity but how can this happen and how safe are we?
i must add that i didnt use the cached link.