Sign in to follow this  
jarrodn

Freelance Advice

I’m a freelance web developer from the United Kingdom with several years of experience. I’ve no problem when it comes to the technical side of being a freelance web developer but I do have some issues when it comes to managing myself and my business. As such, I was wondering whether anybody would be able to give me some advice on managing clients and time.

Some questions that I have are:
- At what point do you tell clients no? For example, you have already agreed on a set list of things to do within a project, but they keep asking for extras or continual changes. (Usually a bunch of small things that seem to go on forever).
- When giving project time estimates, how do you account for bugs?
- Do you often take on multiple projects at the same time, or do you complete them one at a time?
- What do you use to help with time-keeping and efficiency?

Any advice, no matter how small would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks a lot!

Welcome to the forums

- At what point do you tell clients no? For example, you have already agreed on a set list of things to do within a project, but they keep asking for extras or continual changes. (Usually a bunch of small things that seem to go on forever).

The key here is to state in your contract that any work over and above what's been agreed are chargeable extras. What I typically do for extras is to quote time/cost for each item (or group of items) and get the client to agree before doing the work. The extra fees are then added to the final bill.

If you have endless change requests sometimes you need to put your foot down and tell the to stop! What you could do is start stage billing where you bill them for these extras and stop work until they've paid.

- When giving project time estimates, how do you account for bugs?