Emily Alice

New Wordpress Designer - Hosting Reseller or Affiliate?

Hi guys,

I've been reading so many conversations about becoming a hosting reseller or affiliate and yet I'm still having a hard time deciding what to do. I'm very new to the industry so I want to be sure that I have the skills to make it worth becoming a reseller at this stage.  At the moment, I help my clients out (as their designer) with minor hosting issues by getting in touch with the provider on their behalf and working through the issue. I can navigate my way around on a basic level, but want to have a clearer idea of what issues I might run into as a reseller. Questions:

1. What are the most common issues that I might run into as a reseller? At the moment, I will likely only have approx 10 sites with low to medium traffic.

2. Should I just do it? Did other people just dive in when they weren't sure? It seems quite expensive so I'm wondering about becoming an affiliate first for a while.

3. I move a lot between the UK and Australia and built small business Wordpress websites in both countries. Does that mean I shouldn't choose a .au or .uk provider and go for a global option?

4. In 2018, what are the best reseller options out there? I've looked at quite a few now but would love a recommendation.

Thanks so much for any help!

Emily

Hi Emily and welcome to WDF...

One question you might want to take some time to answer is, what exact is it that you want to do?

Are you a web designer, or do you want to become a middle-man, on call 24/7?

To answer your first question: