Sign in to follow this  
all_php_tricks

PHP User Registration And Login Script

I have been learning web development for many years, and i always wanted to make it simple as easy as possible, therefore i wrote a simple user registration and login script in PHP, https://www.allphptricks.com/simple-user-registration-login-script-in-php-and-mysqli/

I just want you guys to kindly have a look on it and if you have any further suggestions to improve it, i would love to hear it.

Thanks all for your time and suggestions.

Regards Javed Ur Rehman

Where do you think this could be used?

Most CMS platforms already have a login system.

My biggest gripe with this tutorial is the same as other tutorials that offer the same thing, they don't secure anything correctly.

Your comment here basically sums the issue up for me:

there are many security measures that you should take, purpose of this tutorial is to keep it simple so that everyone can understand how it works, this is not for production use, you will need to do more security checks to implement any user registration system.

How many people are actually going to know what measures to take? Very few, because beginners won't know what's required at this stage. You can also guarantee people will use this in production.

On top of that, you're only doing 1 pass MD5 for encryption, which is not secure enough. Look at Bcrypt instead of MD5 and consider adding a salt to the encrypted string.

<?php
session_start();
if(!isset($_SESSION["username"])){
header("Location: login.php");
exit(); }
?>

Don't use session verification because it can be spoofed, bypassing any password requirement.

<p>Welcome <?php echo $_SESSION['username']; ?>!</p>

No sanitised output.

---