GrahamUK33

Looking for constructive criticism/feedback

While being a member of the Web Designer Forum, it has given me some inspiration and help to redesign a website that I did a few years ago. The project was also to help me refresh some of the limited HTML and CSS skills that I have.

The project is still work in progress, I still have a few things to do such as:

• Social media meta tags
  • A mobile Menu
  • Find a solution for the selector buttons to update on the Slideshow

I have reached the point of asking for some constructive criticism/feedback for some further inspiration. All though I am not a professional, it would be nice to be able to get the website found in a Google search and for it to be functional on all devices. At this stage I am not sure if I will be creating anymore pages, local history is one of those subjects that could lead to many pages being created.

Please view the Newbury History at www.newburyhistory.co.uk

Sorry to be the bearer of bad tidings... but it looks like a site from 20 years ago. Mainly because of the shadowed headings.

Anyway, looking past the styling, it does what it says on the can - but could be some much more. The history on the homepage would be much better split into sections and had images.

The image sliders on the inner page would be better as static images with captions. Much better usability. And make every image as big as possible.

Make the timeline simpler - don't use an accordion, just show the whole list - and add images!

I'd also bin the huuuuuuge hero image - it fills the screen on every page and adds no real value.

I've been looking as other history websites and there are a lot of discrepancies. Might be worth mentioning alternate events

However...

It's a great project and has lots of potential. Well done

ditto what fisicx said :)