OldGuy

Advice with an over demanding client on a £260 website project.

Hi all this is my first post here! I've recently started freelancing although I've been designing and developing websites since the late 90s, and I'm still learning :-)

Ok now to my predicament, recently I agreed to host a friends site as they wanted to move hosting provider, they also asked if I could update their site as it was very dated and not mobile friendly (fixed width).

As I know them well I agreed that I'd rewrite the site and make it responsive and host it for a friends rate of £260.

All of my work is custom I don't use a CMS so I worked away in my spare time, I redesigned the entire site to make it clean responsive, at every step of the way I emailed the client with updates and screen shots of the new design.

3/4 of the way through the project the client asked if I could add a gallery page for a few photos, no problem or so I thought...

The client didn't want a simple static gallery page with a few photos he wanted an upload system :-/ being fairly proficient in PHP, Ajax, MySQL I wrote a basic upload system.

Upon completion I invited the client over to have a run through the new site all seemed ok until we got to gallery. The client had now decided that he needed to be able to upload and remove images and asked if they could now have a description and be categorised!!

At this point bare in mind £260 for the entire bespoke website, gallery, all graphic design including hosting :-/

I'm pretty generous so I sat down re wrote a lot of the gallery wrote a login system and a gallery editor. All good or so I thought :-/

I handed over the site and made it live, baring in mind that the client had seen the design and layout via email and in person. Within 4 days of handing over the site I receive a long email listing numerous changes including a complete re-design of the main page so that he can fit in a twitter feed, and a request for a background image on every page.