Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

HTTPS won't display some of my graphics.


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Dredd2000

Dredd2000

    Forum Newcomer

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 82 posts

Posted 16 August 2017 - 06:17 PM

Hello all,

 

I'm having a problem with my CodeIgniter project.  I updated my site to http using codeigniter, (not by changing the .htaccess file).  The HTTPS is fine, the little green padlock is showing next to my URL, however, some of my graphics are not showing as well and my ckeditor is no longer working.

 

Everything was fine before the change to HTTPS.  I've tried absolute and relative paths to my files, but some of them don't work, while others, that use the same path are working.  Does anyone know what is causing this?

 

Do I need to change a few lines of code in my .htaccess file?  Or do I need to get a new SSL certificate?  (I got my last SSL certifiacte a couple of weeks ago, before I changed to HTTPS).

 

Any help please?

 

Thanks in advance.



#2 NOCK

NOCK

    Chief Troll Hunter

  • Privileged
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,600 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Eastbourne, East Sussex
  • Experience:Intermediate
  • Area of Expertise:Web Developer

Posted 16 August 2017 - 08:35 PM

It sounds like your images are set to paths that use http rather than https I.e you have code that looks something like <img src="http://

Change that to either https:// or better still just // and they'll work. Double slash will load images using the same protocol that the page uses.

I hope that helps?


#3 Dredd2000

Dredd2000

    Forum Newcomer

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 82 posts

Posted 16 August 2017 - 09:44 PM

Hi Nock,

 

Thanks for the reply but that's not the case.  The src is https://, but I'll try the // and see if that works.



#4 HostOx

HostOx

    Forum Newcomer

  • Gold Membership
  • 22 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Experience:Nothing
  • Area of Expertise:Entrepreneur

Posted 17 August 2017 - 05:29 PM

What is your htaccess file like? It could have a rewrite in there causing issues.



#5 rallport

rallport

    Laravel 5 Rocks

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,950 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England, UK
  • Experience:Web Guru
  • Area of Expertise:Web Developer

Posted 12 November 2017 - 12:25 PM

Hi Nock,

 

Thanks for the reply but that's not the case.  The src is https://, but I'll try the // and see if that works.

 

Why set a protocol at all. IF CodeIgniter hasn't changed since I used it years ago you can set a base url. Simply set this to "/" to avoid issues. However, based upon the plethora of threads you're opening recently about HTTPS it sounds like your have server configuration issues.



#6 Dredd2000

Dredd2000

    Forum Newcomer

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 82 posts

Posted 13 November 2017 - 09:33 AM

Thanks Rallport,

 

I've changed the base_url a number of times to different paths '/' being one of them, and none of them have worked.  I'm going to have to check my server configuration to resolve this problem.



#7 rallport

rallport

    Laravel 5 Rocks

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,950 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England, UK
  • Experience:Web Guru
  • Area of Expertise:Web Developer

Posted 17 November 2017 - 01:05 PM

https://www.whynopadlock.com/ is sometimes useful too.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users