Photo
- - - - -

Will you learn PHP in 2017? Or is it considered to be the bad language ?

php

• Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#1 Saquib Rizwan

Saquib Rizwan

Forum Newcomer

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Experience:Intermediate
  • Area of Expertise:Coder

Posted 29 April 2017 - 08:37 AM

I am a newly graduate developer and I really like to work on PHP. I have a good concept of core PHP and OOP in PHP. I was going to learn the framework now but the thing which make me hesitate about it is that I have seen many developers around the world are opposing PHP and saying that it is a bad language. So my question is should I learn PHP and if yes which framework should I learn first. 

#2 rbrtsmith

rbrtsmith

ReferenceError

• Privileged
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,995 posts
  • Experience:Nothing
  • Area of Expertise:Web Developer

Posted 29 April 2017 - 09:47 AM

I would recommend learning JavaScript over PHP, knowing JavaScript well will enable you to build apps across the stack as it can run both on the client, server and many embedded systems are also running JavaScript.

You will also pick up things like functional programming which is a different paradigm to OOP and is rapidly growing in popularity.  There are many other languages too and while PHP is popular it's not the best paid because of how common PHP devs are and developers in languages such as JavaScript are becoming increasingly sought after.

All this said whats more important than learning individual languages is learning programming fundamentals, data structures and how to write clean code.  These skills are transferrable to any language.

If you want to give JavaScript a go I recommend you begin here https://github.com/g...ster/preface.md

Edited by rbrtsmith, 29 April 2017 - 09:48 AM.

#3 hugmax

hugmax

Forum Newcomer

• Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 19 May 2017 - 07:04 PM

GO ahead and learn Laravel, one of the most powerfull frameworks.

#4 BrowserBugs

BrowserBugs