Jump to content


Photo

Jetpack isn't connecting to my sites to update plugins

wordpress jetpack updating plugins

  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Seth

Seth

    Debugging the world of code one line at a time.

  • Privileged
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,342 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Philadelphia-Metro, USA
  • Experience:Advanced
  • Area of Expertise:Designer/Coder

Posted 16 April 2017 - 04:05 PM

So I have Jetpack on more than 32 sites. The majority of them are current and should have connection with my account. When I go to the WordPress.com dashboard to update my plugins I get a connection error. All these sites are self-hosted instances.

 
Any ideas on what could be going on?
 
Thanks


#2 fisicx

fisicx

    Web Guru

  • Privileged
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,361 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aldershot
  • Experience:Intermediate
  • Area of Expertise:Designer/Coder

Posted 16 April 2017 - 04:16 PM

A bit confused. You say the sites are self hosted but you are connecting to wordpress.com. How are you updating the 32 sites from wordpress.com?



#3 Seth

Seth

    Debugging the world of code one line at a time.

  • Privileged
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,342 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Philadelphia-Metro, USA
  • Experience:Advanced
  • Area of Expertise:Designer/Coder

Posted 17 April 2017 - 10:12 AM

I'm using Jetpack.



#4 fisicx

fisicx

    Web Guru

  • Privileged
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,361 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aldershot
  • Experience:Intermediate
  • Area of Expertise:Designer/Coder

Posted 17 April 2017 - 12:23 PM

That doesn't really help. How are you updating JetPack?

 

The normal method is to login to the dashboard of the site and click to to update. Are you saying this isn't working?

 

As an aside, jetpack isn't that good anymore. Things have moved on a lot and the functionality jatpack offers is far better served using alternate methods.



#5 designgem

designgem

    Forum Newcomer

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 84 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Midlands
  • Experience:Intermediate
  • Area of Expertise:Web Designer

Posted 18 April 2017 - 08:58 AM

That doesn't really help. How are you updating JetPack?

 

The normal method is to login to the dashboard of the site and click to to update. Are you saying this isn't working?

 

As an aside, jetpack isn't that good anymore. Things have moved on a lot and the functionality jatpack offers is far better served using alternate methods.

 

This. Jetpack slows sites down like crazy. There are plenty of alternatives to every feature it offers that won't total twice the size of WordPress core.



#6 Seth

Seth

    Debugging the world of code one line at a time.

  • Privileged
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,342 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Philadelphia-Metro, USA
  • Experience:Advanced
  • Area of Expertise:Designer/Coder

Posted 21 April 2017 - 10:40 AM

Oh great! Can you recommend one?



#7 fisicx

fisicx

    Web Guru

  • Privileged
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,361 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aldershot
  • Experience:Intermediate
  • Area of Expertise:Designer/Coder

Posted 21 April 2017 - 12:43 PM

What do you use jetpack for?






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users