#1 -Matthew-

-Matthew-

Forum Newcomer

• Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts

Posted 12 January 2017 - 07:14 PM

Hello all,

Hope you had a great Christmas and New year?

I'm looking to get some advice on what CMS to use (Not wordpress please) which I can use for my clients websites, Something easy to use and customise to fit in with my clients sites.

Not looking for something expensive or any monthly costs, open source would be ideal but security is a must.

Sorry not that Im fussy!  :santa_cheesy:

Best regards,

Matt

Edited by -Matthew-, 12 January 2017 - 07:15 PM.

#2 Fuzzy Logic

Fuzzy Logic

Web Guru

• Gold Membership
  • 1,362 posts
  • Experience:Advanced
  • Area of Expertise:Designer

Posted 12 January 2017 - 08:16 PM

Although I'm not a developer, I would say it depends on the needs of the client, but the one I use most the time is expression engine, although there are much more basic ones out there that might be perfect for your client.

#3 Jack

Jack

NaN

• Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,184 posts
  • Area of Expertise:Web Designer

Posted 12 January 2017 - 09:11 PM

Craft CMS always gets my vote. It's not free, but you can pass the cost on to your client.

#4 -Matthew-

-Matthew-

Forum Newcomer

• Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts

Posted 12 January 2017 - 09:22 PM

Thanks for the replies so far :)

@Jack With Craft CMS is it possible to create the website using the free plan, then once the website has been created then moving it to the paid plan?

#5 Jack

Jack

NaN

• Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,184 posts

Posted 12 January 2017 - 11:58 PM

Thanks for the replies so far :)

@Jack With Craft CMS is it possible to create the website using the free plan, then once the website has been created then moving it to the paid plan?

It depends on what you need, on most sites, you will need the paid version. You can run it locally for free though and use every feature until it goes public.

#6 BlueDreamer

BlueDreamer

Web Guru

• Moderators