RiskyShenanigan

Forum Newcomer

• Members
  • Pip
  • 98 posts
  • Experience:Beginner
  • Area of Expertise:Web Designer

Posted 03 July 2014 - 07:48 PM

Hi, I am looking for advice about changing career paths to become a professional Web Designer. Let me give you a little bit about my background, I got a degree in Computer Science and after university wanted to pursue web development, so I spent about a month learning coding of HTML, CSS and Javascript/jQuery and obtained a 3 month internship as a front-end developer.

However due to the lack of opportunities I was presented based on my beginner experience, I hadn't got any work is a while which is why I moved to SEO work. I again spent another month learning about SEO, obtaining an internship which then led onto being full-time work. I currently have the opportunity to determine what I want to do in the long term and have been interested in moving to Web Designing since I actually wanted to major in an Art field pre-college (UK) but chose the IT-field.

I would like some advice from fellow Web Designers and professionals about what steps to take in pursuing this career and being successful? I feel that the knowledge I have obtained through my internship as a Front-End Developer and work in SEO could transition well to Web Designing.

#2 rbrtsmith

rbrtsmith

ReferenceError

• Privileged
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,033 posts
  • Experience:Nothing
  • Area of Expertise:Web Developer

Posted 04 July 2014 - 04:44 AM

You wanna be a designer or a developer?

#3 RiskyShenanigan

RiskyShenanigan

Forum Newcomer

• Members
  • Pip
  • 98 posts

Posted 04 July 2014 - 06:42 AM

You wanna be a designer or a developer?

Mainly designing, but I don't mind doing a bit of HTML, CSS and JS which I have done previously.

#4 RiskyShenanigan

RiskyShenanigan

Forum Newcomer

• Members
  • Pip
  • 98 posts

Posted 05 July 2014 - 10:50 AM

Bump, I would appreciate any advice.

#5 rbrtsmith

rbrtsmith

ReferenceError

• Privileged