10 replies to this topic

#1 Davidx000000

Davidx000000

Forum Newcomer

• Members
  • Pip
  • 29 posts

Posted 07 July 2013 - 10:18 AM

Hello I am designing a group of websites on behalf of my boss (a building contractor) which will all have the same theme / layout just different infomation on each relating to different aspects of building so one site for bathroom fitting one for kitchen fitting etc.... and have them all interlinked to each other under different domains and acting as individual sites.

Bearing in mind this is my first attempt at building a website and I only unerstand html and css could anyone perhaps offer any help in regards to a better design or offer any advice that may improve the website www.guildbathrooms.com.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for reading

#2 throzen

throzen

For the record, I did this to myself.

• Privileged
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 655 posts
  • Experience:Advanced
  • Area of Expertise:Web Designer

Posted 07 July 2013 - 11:46 AM

I'm impressed - if this is your first attempt at a web project then you've taken a great stride in the right direction. You've used conventional elements (divs, spans etc), declared the doctype and complied with it, CSS looks good too, nothing to really 'criticise' as it were, so I'll move onto design. 

I would add a background to the bottom footer containing all the links (which, again, is a good addition) and there's a huge space at the bottom of the web page.

Under the 'Areas we cover' drop-down tab, do you plan to make those links to the individual areas? If not, it would be unusual to have this kind of information in a navigation drop-down tab.

On a personal note, I would add a 'margin-top' to the #wrap div, to separate it from the #holder1 block, since there's a gap between #pictureholder and the grey #textholder bar.