Photo

Why is Internet Explorer still targeted.

cross-browser-compatibility internet-explorer ie

• Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 bobble14988

bobble14988

Forum Newcomer

• Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Experience:Nothing
  • Area of Expertise:Designer

Posted 26 September 2012 - 10:41 AM

I am, by no means, an expert web designer or developer. I am primarily a software engineer and work quite a lot on server-side code of web applications. But I've been wondering about this question for some time and I've tried to find somewhere appropriate to post this question as I'd like to see some discussion so I apologise if it is the wrong place.

My parents have been running a business for almost 10 years and have recently asked me to redesign their website. I've been looking to build up my portfolio so I thought it would be an interesting side-project.

After many hours of planning the design and laying out the basic structure of the page (testing only with Chrome, for now) I ended up with a solid design I (and my parents) liked which was ready for content. I felt proud of my first website designed from scratch and could see myself doing it more often.

I typically use Chrome so, after installing various other browsers, I started testing the site for cross-browser-compatibility. The site looked exactly the same in all browsers except Internet Explorer. The CSS rules for my titles don't have text-shadow, the divs didn't have border-radius and the positioning was all over the place.

The my frustration was palpable. I know there are tricks for creating IE-only stylesheets and so I was expecting a few issues but not to have to design the entire site twice!

There are many articlesabout Chrome overtaking IE as the predominant web browser in use and, at its current rate of decline, Firefox may even be more popular soon, so why oh why are web developers still going to all the effort of designing websites for the ugly ducking which is Internet Explorer?!