Jump to content


Photo

Help pointing domain name to a sub domain


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Starseed

Starseed

    Forum Newcomer

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 55 posts

WDF Reputation

2
Neutral
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Norfolk, England
  • Experience:Intermediate
  • Area of Expertise:Coder

Posted 10 September 2011 - 09:08 AM

I have already had help from my hosting provider pointing my domain name http://www.janettehodds.co.uk/ to the sub domain, however if I were to type in http://janettehodds.co.uk/ it doesn't work can any one explain this?

#2 UK Web hosting

UK Web hosting

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 287 posts

WDF Reputation

9
Neutral
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Experience:Nothing
  • Area of Expertise:Nothing

Posted 10 September 2011 - 02:28 PM

Hello,

How did they point the domain? If its cpanel Hosting and linux server ask them to just change the apache config documentary path to the subdomain folder or even a redirect rule can help.

#3 Starseed

Starseed

    Forum Newcomer

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 55 posts

WDF Reputation

2
Neutral
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Norfolk, England
  • Experience:Intermediate
  • Area of Expertise:Coder

Posted 10 September 2011 - 02:37 PM

Hello,

How did they point the domain? If its cpanel Hosting and linux server ask them to just change the apache config documentary path to the subdomain folder or even a redirect rule can help.


Its a Plesk control panel and I believe they used a framed redirect which I'm not really sure what that is. I just want to use this subdomain like a seperate website, so what the url to work in such a way that if you were to do a google search you would see the correct url and not the subdomain url. Does this make sense? I've never been good with this sort of thing.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users