Web Design Forum: strange e-mail today - Web Design Forum

Jump to content

WDF
WDF Premium Memberships Reseller Hosting
Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

strange e-mail today New to Forum, anyone got any ideas please

#1 User is offline   nicktiler 

  • Forum Newcomer
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 20-July 11
  • Reputation: 0

Posted 20 July 2011 - 07:58 PM

Hi
received e-mail today, sure it was not a virus,may be spam,but very strange.
curious as to why a Chinese Trading company would want to use my trade specific trading name & website domain name as their own ?
My site is self designed ( know it is not professional, but performs very well for my chosen keywords throughout Halifax an West Yorkshire )
Anyone give me any ideas as to what is going on please ?
Follows copy of e-mail received today....

"Subject: Official Notice "yorkshiretilingservices" Branding declaration

(If you are not the person who is in charge of this, please forward to the right person/ department, as this is urgent, thank you.)



Dear CEO,



We are one of the registration and solution center in China.we have something need to confirm with you.We formally received an application on July 19,2011,The company which is called "Salonr import and export Co. , lnc" is applying to register "yorkshiretilingservices" as their brand name and domain names as below:

yorkshiretilingservices.asia
yorkshiretilingservices.cn
yorkshiretilingservices.com.cn
yorkshiretilingservices.com.hk
yorkshiretilingservices.com.tw
yorkshiretilingservices.hk
yorkshiretilingservices.net.cn
yorkshiretilingservices.tw

After our initial checking,we found the brand name and these domain names being applied are as same as your company's,so we need to confirm with your company.If the aforesaid company is your business partner or your subsidiary company,please DO NOT reply us,we will approve the application automatically.If you have no any relationship with this company,please contact us within 10 workdays.If out of the deadline,we will approve the application submitted by "Salonr import and export Co. , lnc" unconditionally.




Best Regards,



Jack Cui
Senior Consultant




2011-7-20

"

Thanks,sorry this may be in wrong bit of Forum, was not sure where to put it
Nick

This post has been edited by nicktiler: 20 July 2011 - 08:05 PM

0

#2 User is online   Renaissance-Design 

  • Available for custom WordPress work
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 3,585
  • Joined: 12-August 10
  • Reputation: 558
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Wales
  • Experience:Web Guru
  • Area of Expertise:Designer/Coder

Posted 20 July 2011 - 08:30 PM

I'd imagine they're trawling for foreign companies and trying to persuade them to register a bunch of Chinese TLDs to "protect their brand" against a completely bogus interloper.
0

#3 User is offline   Glowbridge 

  • Expert
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 616
  • Joined: 15-July 11
  • Reputation: 99
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland
  • Experience:Intermediate
  • Area of Expertise:Web Designer

Posted 20 July 2011 - 08:37 PM

They are trying to scare you into contacting them so they can sell you some domains/services. Make up a company name, pretend they have an application in to take your domain name, tell you if you don't respond it will go through. Make you think you better get on the phone and stop whatever is happening right away.

It's like those letters you get in the mail that claim your domain name is expiring soon and if you don't act quick you will lose it. Then they give a form that transfers it from whoever you bought it with to their service that just happens to cost $100/month for every .com you have.
0

#4 User is offline   sash_oo7 

  • Forum Newcomer
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 837
  • Joined: 15-August 10
  • Reputation: 45
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mars
  • Experience:Nothing
  • Area of Expertise:Nothing

Posted 20 July 2011 - 10:12 PM

View PostGlowbridge, on 20 July 2011 - 08:37 PM, said:

They are trying to scare you into contacting them so they can sell you some domains/services. Make up a company name, pretend they have an application in to take your domain name, tell you if you don't respond it will go through. Make you think you better get on the phone and stop whatever is happening right away.

It's like those letters you get in the mail that claim your domain name is expiring soon and if you don't act quick you will lose it. Then they give a form that transfers it from whoever you bought it with to their service that just happens to cost $100/month for every .com you have.


its a spam or scam whatever u say i too got same kind of email a month ago so just ignore it ;)
0

#5 User is offline   nicktiler 

  • Forum Newcomer
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 20-July 11
  • Reputation: 0

Posted 20 July 2011 - 10:18 PM

View Postsash_oo7, on 20 July 2011 - 10:12 PM, said:

its a spam or scam whatever u say i too got same kind of email a month ago so just ignore it ;)


Thank you all,
you are all correct, they e-mailed me again, trying to scare me into registering those domain names before other bogus company, their e-mails will now be treated as spam.
Thanks again
0

#6 User is offline   rallport 

  • Web Guru
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3,816
  • Joined: 03-January 10
  • Reputation: 266
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England, UK
  • Experience:Advanced
  • Area of Expertise:Web Developer

Posted 21 July 2011 - 01:44 PM

If you want to register those TLDs you can register them through normal registrars. Would avoid clicking an links in such emails.
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users